Print this page

Guild Archive

The ideas that informed the establishment of the Guild of St George in the 1870s are contained in Ruskin's 'Letters to the Workmen and Labourers of Great Britain' known as Fors Clavigera. These can be read online here, in volumes 27-29 of Ruskin's Works. Volume 30 is also dedicated to the Guild, and can be read here. This includes the Abstract of the Objects and Constitution of St George's Guild (1877) which we have reproduced for your convenience here.

The purpose of this page is to collect items pertinent to the Guild's history. Suggestions and contributions are welcome, as always.

For the most recent history of the Guild (covering the period up to about 1900) see Companion Mark Frost's The Lost Companions and John Ruskin's Guild of St George: A Revisionary History (Anthem Press, 2014) [see publisher's website]. (See also essay-review by Eagles, below.)

Online Catalogue of the Guild's Written Archives (Sheffield Archives): updated March 2017.

The Roll of Companions of the Guild of St George (to 1963)
(NB. The cut-off point of 1963 was chosen to protect the personal details of all Companions still living.)

Ruskin (and Guild) Study Guide by Sheffield City Council (2010).

Memorandum and Articles of Association (2016) replacing Memorandum and Articles of Association (1970)

'Mr. Howard Swan on Ruskin: Sheffield Reminiscences' in Sheffield Independent (26 January 1900) an article (only rediscovered in January 2015) focusing on St George's Museum, written by Howard Swan, the son of the curators (Henry and Emily).

'A Memorial Address' by Rev Canon H. D. Rawnsley. given at Friar's Crag to a meeting of the Companions of the Guild of St George, on 7 September, 1902. Published in Saint George, vol. 5, no. 20 (October 1902), pp. 247-250.

• The novelist Isabella Fyvie Mayo (1843-1914) on the Ruskin Museum at Meersbrook Park (1898-99).

'The Guild of St George: Ruskin's attempt to translate his ideas into practice' by Margaret E. Spence.

Ruskin's Social Experiment at Barmouth by Blanche Atkinson; also, explore this excellent Barmouth heritage trail.

The First 70 Years: Guild AGMs (dates and venues) 1879-1949.

Articles on the Guild's history from The Companion (click images or text to download pdf)

James S Dearden, 'Secretaries of the Guild of St Gorge'

Stuart Eagles, 'Barmouth (in Pictures)'
A short photo-historical article about the properties in Barmouth, Wales, donated to the Guild by Fanny Talbot.

Stuart Eagles, 'Impossible hopes?'
A review essay on Mark Frost's The Lost Companions and John Ruskin's Guild of St George: A Revisionary History (Anthem Press, 2014) . In particular, contains unfamiliar material on Robert Somervell and James Burdon.

Stuart Eagles, 'Past Masters'
A short biographical article about Hugh Charles Fairfax-Cholmeley.

Stuart Eagles, 'Past Masters: George Baker'

Stuart Eagles, 'Treasures of the Ruskin Collection'
This includes biographical and genealogical information about the artist Frank Randal.

Stuart Eagles, 'Two Early Companions'
This gives biographical details of Silvius Wilkins and Rev. William Sharman.

Liz Mitchell, '"Treasuring Things of the Least" Companion Extraordinaire Mary Hope Greg'
A biographical article on Mary Hope Greg, donor of properties in Westmill, Hertfordshire and of many treasures to the Ruskin Collection.

Andrew Russell, '"Derbyshire is a lovely child's alphabet": Ruskin, Railways, St George's Farm, and Totley's Heritage'

See next page for information on Masters of the Guild.

Other Resources
A partial list of lectures at the Ruskin Society, 1879-1913 (Stuart Eagles)
Index to the journal, Saint George (Stuart Eagles)

Please check out our Shop where you can purchase a range of books published by the Guild which explore aspects of the Guild's history.

 

 


Previous page: Ruskin & Arkansas
Next page: Resources